Shatkriyakala (or satkriyakala) – six stages of the development of the disease (horns / vyadhi): a key part of samprapti (pathogenesis)

In Ayurvedic medicine, samprapti (pathogenesis-the mechanism of the development of the disease) is peculiar. There are many causes of aggravation or damage to the dosha. It can be both external and internal. If the doshas become sufficiently distorted, the dhatu and their agni will be abnormally affected, causing illness and disease (vyadhi). The early stages of exacerbation can be quite subtle, and further exacerbation may be required before it “catches attention.”

Then this can lead to progression, which causes a change in cellular intelligence, abnormal changes in the quality of dhatu, as well as changes in organs and meal (system).

Dr. DAS Jayanta Kumar,
Ayurvedic and integrative medicine doctor.

Ayurveda classifies this development of the disease in six stages, called Shatkriyakala (or Satkriyakala). Understanding these steps is vital for the doctor or Ayurveda practitioner. This allows you to “look at the pathogenesis” and helps a lot in choosing a treatment method. A brief overview is presented here.

1.Sanchaya (Accumulation):

The disease begins with the accumulation of one or more doshas. The three doshas, ​​Vata, Pitta, and Kapha, are the three operators of the mind and body that control the functioning of the body. Although doshas underlie the physical body, they are not physical – they are principles of intelligence. When the three doshas are in balance, one enjoys good health. However, due to an unbalanced diet, lifestyle, and exposure to stress and environmental factors, one or more doshas can become unbalanced. The first stage of this imbalance is that the dosha increases in quantity or “accumulates”.

In the first stage, the dosha accumulates in its natural “place” or “house”. For example, vata dosha can accumulate in the colon, nerves, or in empty spaces and channels of the body. Pitta dosha can accumulate in the digestive tract, eyes, or skin. Kapha can accumulate in the chest and body fluids, such as joint fluids and circulatory systems.

2. Prakopa ( Exacerbation / Provocation):

While the first stage involves a quantitative change in doshas, ​​this stage includes a qualitative change in doshas. In the second stage, the dosha tends to spread beyond its usual place. This internal qualitative change is sometimes called a “shock”, which can be translated as “becoming abnormal” or “spoiled”.After these two stages, the disease leaves the gastrointestinal tract, complicates self-treatment, and you should consult an Ayurvedic doctor or practitioner.

3.Prasara (Spread / Spread):

Now the dosha leaves its home chair and begins to circulate in the body. There are still no specific symptoms. However, in the third stage there may be vague, nonspecific nonspecific symptoms, such as temporary aches and pains or mild ailment. The patient may complain of fatigue or mild depression or say, “I just feel bad.”

Doshas are located in the gastrointestinal tract in the first and second stages, in the “home” of Agni. While this happens, there is a chance of harm when Agni worsens as a result of further exacerbation. After the lesion, the dosha leaves the gastrointestinal tract, and the disease or disorder will continue to manifest itself, which will complicate their recovery and cure.

These first 3 stages (Sanchaya, Prakopa, Prasara) together received the name “ dosha kriya kala ”. In these stages, the doshas become polluted, aggravated due to the malfunctioning of agni, meal, dhatu. Diseases or diagnoses are not yet formed and treatment in these stages is relatively easier.

4.Sthana Samshraya (localization):

At this stage, the dosha is currently localized in the tissue outside its main seat and begins to disrupt the function of this tissue (dhatu) or organ.

There are several factors that determine where the dosha will be distributed. One of them is a violation of microcirculatory channels (mouth) in this tissue. For example, if a narrowing of blood vessels or lymphatic channels occurs in an area of ​​the body, the dosha may settle there and begin to disrupt the functioning of the surrounding tissues.

The second factor is digestive toxins called ama. In Maharishi Ayurveda, it is clear that unbalanced digestion is almost always associated with a chronic disease. Ama is a product of unbalanced digestion and is described as a sticky substance that can easily clog the body’s microcirculatory channels. A spreading dosha carries ama along with it, and sticky ama “gets stuck” at the narrowing of the string. Then this sticky ama, along with a spoiled dosha, becomes a breeding ground for diseases in this area.

For example, if kapha dosha, heavy and cold, accumulates and spreads, it can be localized with ama in the channels of the head and neck. In the fourth stage, it will begin to feel like an itch in the throat or a feeling of heaviness in the head.

5. Vyakti (manifestation / Manifestation):

At this stage, the disease manifests itself in its full, clearly identifiable form. The functioning of the tissues is disrupted by the ama complex mixed with an unbalanced dosha. In the example of kapha dosha and ama, localized in the head and neck, the prickly throat and heaviness in the head are now felt as a full-blown congestion syndrome in the form of a runny nose, sore throat, sinusitis or allergies.

6. Bheda (Chronicity / Violations / Complications):

At this stage, the disease is so embedded in the tissues that the natural mechanisms of recovery of the body are not able to reverse it. Then impaired functioning becomes a long-term or permanent disorder. For example, a Kapha disorder can become chronic or persistent sinusitis or rhinitis.

 The last 3 stages (Sthana Samshraya, Vyakti, Bheda) together were called “ vyadhi kriya kala ”. In these stages of the underlying disease, or diagnoses will form and treatment in these stages is relatively more difficult.

The disease is also caused within the mind. The mind has two doshas (manasika dosha-mental doshas), rajas (the mode of attachment) and tamas (the mode of ignorance), two of the maha gunas. The third maha guna, sattva (the mode of moisture), is considered the very nature of the mind and is not a causal factor. There are two types of diseases that involve the mind:

1. Manasaja (mental): 

Any disease that occurs in the mental faculty, such as depression, schizophrenia and other psychiatric problems. There is a violation of rajas and tamas, then three doshas are violated (vata, pitta and kapha). Therefore, dhatu may be involved later.

2. Sharira Manasaja (psychosomatic): 

Any disease that occurs as Manasaja and then progresses, increasing the dosha and dhatus; or a disease that begins in the physical body and then continues to violate the mode of the mind.

Leave a Reply